Oiseaux et jardin

Oiseaux

Notre deuxième plus grande attraction naturelle en plus de la cascade, ce sont les oiseaux. Et nous sommes fiers d’accueillir une grande variété de colibris sous lesquels quelques espèces rares. Lors que les clients entrent dans le restaurant, les premiers mots qu’ils prononcent sont ‘ Regardez tous ces hummers, incroyable ! ‘ Et certains clients que nous devons persuader de commencer la visite de la cascade, sinon ils ne prendraient que des photos. De nombreux autres oiseaux visitent notre place aussi; pensez à l’Oropendola Montezuma, au toucan, à la dinde noire, aux faucons, aux vautours et au trogon.

hawk catarata del toro

La capture d’un jour

Un samedi d’août, un guide touristique de la ville voisine de Zarcero nous a rendu visite avec sa femme. Tous deux sont des ornithologues professionnels enthousiastes. De 15 heures à 10 heures le lendemain, ils ont repéré les oiseaux suivants : Tropical kingbird, Melodious Blackbird, Swallow-tailed Kite, Slaty flower purser, Cherrie’s tanager, White-tailed kite, Slaty-backed nightingale thrush, Streak headed woodcreeper, White hawk, Scaly throated foliage gleaner, Scaly-breasted pygmy tyrant, Streak breasted tree hunter, Spotted barb tail, Sooty faced finch, Chestnut-capped brush finch, Buff-rumped warbler, Black-breasted wood quail, Black-breasted wood wren, Common tody flycatcher, Common bush tanager, Brown jay, Yellow-faced grassquit, Slate-throated Redstar, Blue-grey Tanager, Montezuma oropendola, Peg-billed finch, Crested guan, Rufous-winged woodcreeper, Silver throated tanager, Thorntail hummingbird, Brown violet ear hummingbird, Green hermit, Green-crowned brilliant, Black-bellied Hummingbird, Rufous-tailed hummingbird, Coppery headed Emerald, Violet Sabrewing, Purple-throated mountain gem, Collared trogon, Black vulture, Clay coloured thrush, Social flycatcher and the Rufous-collared sparrow.

À quoi ressemblera votre liste ?

La capture d’un jour – suite

Le couple susmentionné a terminé sa liste. Un nombre étonnant de 176 espèces en deux jours seulement. Sur nos deux propriétés. Sous lequel les espèces endémiques : le Coppery Headed Emerald. Nous aimons partager la liste complète dans un document Word ou en tant que fichier PDF.

Selon les auteurs, d’autres espèces suivront au cours des prochains mois d’été. Nous vous tiendrons informés.

Coppery Headed Emerald

Rencontrez nos nouveaux résidents

Depuis octobre 2020, nous sommes fiers d’avoir de nouveaux résidents, les Chouette effraie.Déjà quelques œufs sont sortis. Lorsque nos visiteurs quotidiens rentrent chez eux et que l’obscurité de la nuit commence à s’installer. Le son et l’activité commencent à augmenter de façon spectaculaire. Nous sommes ravis et nous nous sentons bénis d’avoir un habitat parfait établi.

Resident 3

Jardin

Le jardin, nous l’avons conçu pour attirer les oiseaux et qui est pour ainsi dire toujours en construction. Jusqu’à présent, il nous a fallu déjà quelques années et il faudra probablement encore quelques années pour mature. Mais petit à petit, quelque chose de beau se prépare. Notre philosophie est que si nous attirons des oiseaux, le reste de l’écosystème suivra. Notre but ultime est d’attirer le Quetzal sur une base permanente. Le Quetzal est originaire de la région mais a besoin d’un meilleur habitat. Et jusqu’à présent, nous n’avons jamais rencontré une personne qui n’aimait pas les oiseaux. Si vous voulez vous promener et profiter de la vue et du calme du jardin ou si vous voulez observer autant d’oiseaux que possible, tout est là.


51 hectares

Quelques informations privilégiées : dans notre section Blue Falls (51 hectares), nous plantons déjà des centaines et des centaines d’arbres fruitiers indigènes. Surtout sur les pentes des ruisseaux et combiné avec le jardin de notre région deviendra un paradis pour les oiseaux!

hummingbirds catarata del toro (2)

Ornithologues

Comme dit précédemment : les oiseaux sont essentiels pour nous, et de nombreux ornithologues amateurs ont trouvé notre place; beaucoup d’autres suivront. Il est bon de savoir que nous autorisons les configurations multi-flash mais uniquement sur réservation, et que vous devez apporter tout l’équipement et le savoir-faire. Les prix pour les ornithologues sont les mêmes que pour tout le monde, même si vous restez toute la journée, sauf pour les multi-flashers. S’il vous plaît voir nos prix.

Birds & garden

National bird counting day 2022

The national bird counting day 2022 was held on the 22nd of January. Again, we had the help and support of a professional team of birders. They counted in twenty-four hours 76 species. See the list here. We want to thank everybody involved in this beautiful event organized by the – Costa Rican Bird Route 2022. You can contact them at costaricanbirdroute@hotmail.com if you want more information.

Birds - Catarata Del Toro - Costa Rica
Birds - Catarata Del Toro - Costa Rica
Birds - Catarata Del Toro - Costa Rica
Birds - Catarata Del Toro - Costa Rica

Birds

Welcome to our second-biggest natural attraction, namely: birds. And we are proud to be home to a wide variety of hummingbirds under which a few scarce species. When clients enter the restaurant, the first words are: ‘Look at all those hummers, amazing!’ And some clients we have to persuade to start the waterfall tour, else they would take only pictures. And we are called home for many other birds, too; think about the Oropendola Montezuma, toucan, black turkey, hawks, vultures, and the Trogon.

hawk catarata del toro

The ‘Catch’ of one day

On a Saturday in August, an area tour guide visited us with his wife. Both are enthusiastic professional birders. From 3.00 pm till 10.00 am the next day, they spotted the following birds: Tropical kingbird, Melodious Blackbird, Swallow-tailed Kite, Slaty flower purser, Cherrie’s tanager, White-tailed kite, Slaty-backed nightingale thrush, Streak headed woodcreeper, White hawk, Scaly throated foliage gleaner, Scaly-breasted pygmy tyrant, Streak breasted tree hunter, Spotted barb tail, Sooty faced finch, Chestnut-capped brush finch, Buff-rumped warbler, Black-breasted wood quail, Black-breasted wood wren, Common tody flycatcher, Common bush tanager, Brown jay, Yellow-faced grassquit, Slate-throated Redstar, Blue-grey Tanager, Montezuma oropendola, Peg-billed finch, Crested guan, Rufous-winged woodcreeper, Silver throated tanager, Thorntail hummingbird, Brown violet ear hummingbird, Green hermit, Green-crowned brilliant, Black-bellied Hummingbird, Rufous-tailed hummingbird, Coppery headed Emerald, Violet Sabrewing, Purple-throated mountain gem, Collared trogon, Black vulture, Clay-colored thrush, Social flycatcher, and the Rufous-collared sparrow.

How will your list look?

Meet our new residents

Something nice is happening in our place. As we are trying to protect nature and the natural habitats, the fruits are showing. Since October 2020, we are proud to have a new resident, the Barn owl. Already some eggs came out. When our daily visitors go home and the darkness of the night starts moving in. Sound and activity begin to increase dramatically. We are delighted and feel blessed that those birds are here, among many other animals.

Resident- Catarata Del Toro
Barn-owl - Catarata Del Toro

Garden

We designed the garden to attract birds, which is ever-under-construction. But it is coming there. Our philosophy is that if we attract birds, the ecosystem will follow. So our ultimate goal is to attract the Quetzal permanently. The Quetzal is native to the area but needs a better habitat. And till now, we never met a person who did not like birds. So if you want to take a walk and enjoy the views and peace of the garden or want to spot as many birds as you can, it is all here.

Garden view Catarata Del Toro

51 hectares

Some inside information: at our Blue Falls section (51 hectares), we planted hundreds of native fruit trees. So, especially at the slopes of the creeks and the garden, our area will become a bird paradise!

Frog pond Catarata Del Toro
Black-bellied-Hummingbird-male-cataratasdeltoro
hummingbirds catarata del toro
White-tipped Sicklebill catarata del toro
hummingbirds catarata del toro (2)
hummingbirds catarata del toro
trojon catarata del toro

Birders

Birds are essential to us, and many birders have found our place; many more will follow. We allow multi-flash setups but only with reservations, and you have to bring all the equipment and know-how. Prices for birders are the same as for everybody else even if you stay the whole day, except for the multi-flashers.

Trails ——–——– Cloud Forest